The Western Metropolitan Partnership’s first annual assembly will take place on 4 October 2017.

Join the conversation now and help shape the future of the region. Visit Engage Victoria to have your say or register your interest in attending the assembly.

James Fitzgerald, Western Metropolitan Partnership

Bringing your thoughts and advice to government

The Western Metropolitan Partnership will work closely with its community to identify and address the most important challenges and opportunities in each region, by bringing together and facilitating stronger collaboration between communities, industry, businesses and all levels of government.

The Partnership will look for opportunities to drive improved social, economic and environmental outcomes and advise the government on actions that can make a real difference to the liveability and prosperity of their region.

The Western Region

Melbourne's Western Metropolitan Region extends from the inner suburbs of Moonee Ponds, Footscray and Williamstown, through the middle-ring suburbs of Essendon, Maribyrnong, Sunshine and Altona, to the growth area suburbs surrounding Werribee and Melton.

Melbourne’s Western Metropolitan Region is the traditional home of the Wurundjeri and Wathaurong peoples of the Kulin Nation.

Read more about the Western Region.

Who to talk to and look out for

The Partnerships are generally made up of 15 members from across each of the six metropolitan regions. Membership includes eight community and business representatives with varied backgrounds, experiences and networks, the CEO of each of local government in that region, a Deputy Secretary from the Victorian State Government, and a representative from the Commonwealth Government.

Alex Cockram  Alex has been CEO of Western Health, Victoria since October 2012. She is a psychiatrist by training, and a clinician and leader in mental health and acute care. Alex is also an Associate Professor and Honorary Principal Fellow at University of Melbourne Department of Psychiatry. Chair
Peter Dawkins  Peter is Vice-Chancellor and President of Victoria University. He has had leadership roles with the Victorian Government as Secretary of Department of Education and Early Childhood Development and Deputy Secretary of Economic and Financial Policy, Department of Treasury and Finance. Deputy Chair
Anne Barker Anne is Chair of LeadWest and a commissioner of the Victorian Building Authority. She was Managing Director of City West Water for 13 years and has held senior management positions in a number of companies including Myer, ANZ and SPI PowerNet. She has also been the Chair of Whitelion Open Family Australia since 2011. Member
James Fitzgerald James is a Chartered Professional Engineer with experience designing and delivering major civil projects. He was previously Director of Members, Supporters and Business Development and a Board Director at Engineers Without Borders Australia, Australia's largest humanitarian engineering organisation. Member
Anna Reid Anna is Regional Manufacturing Operations Manager for Asahi Beverages, which includes factories in Laverton and Tullamarine. She is a leader in the manufacturing sector and was awarded 2015 Young Manufacturer of the Year at the Victorian Government's Manufacturing Industry awards. Member
Rhyll Dorrington Rhyll has over 20 years of experience working in the not-for-profit sector, including eight years as the current CEO of Western Chances, an organisation that supports financially disadvantaged young people in Melbourne’s west. Among other education and training, Rhyll has completed the Executive Program for Nonprofit Leaders at Stanford University. Member
Christopher Campbell Chris is CEO of Citywide Service Solutions, a community-focused civic amenities, infrastructure and environmental services business. Chris has extensive experience in transformation, business growth, and strategy. He is currently also the Chair of Citywide North Melbourne Asphalt Plant. Member
Elleni Bereded-Samuel Elleni is the Diversity Capability Development Manager at Australian Unity. She has recently been appointed to the Multicultural Business Ministerial Council and is a non-executive Director on Western Health Board. Among other Commonwealth board appointments, Elleni served as Commissioner of the Victorian Multicultural Commission for six years and was appointed to The Women's Hospital Board. Member
Anthea Harris Anthea is the Lead Deputy Secretary, Strategy and Planning at Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources. Anthea previously worked at the Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency, an economics consulting firm, the Victorian Department of Premier and Cabinet and the Productivity Commission. Victorian Government representative
Stephen Wall Stephen’s local government career spans more than 19 years, working in six different councils in three different states. He has held a range of senior executive roles, including CEO at three councils, which includes his current role as CEO Maribyrnong City Council. CEO, Maribyrnong City Council
Paul Younis Paul has 20 years of experience in a range of senior management positions. Prior to joining Brimbank, Paul was CEO of Corangamite Shire Council, where he also held the position of Director, Infrastructure and Development. CEO, Brimbank City Council
Kel Tori Kelvin holds a Bachelor of Economics and Politics and has over thirty years of experience in local government. Kelvin was the General Manager Corporate Services at Melton City Council for eight years prior to moving into the position of CEO. CEO, Melton City Council
Chris Eddy Chris has over 17 years of experience in local government with senior management roles including communications, governance, information technology and organisation development. He has been CEO of Hobsons Bay City Council since October 2012. CEO, Hobsons Bay City Council
Bryan Lancaster Bryan has been CEO of Moonee Valley City Council since 2015. He graduated as a civil engineer and worked in the private sector, designing and constructing infrastructure, before spending nearly 40 years in local government. CEO, Moonee Valley City Council
Kelly Grigsby Kelly has worked in local government for over 15 years, within the human services, community development, strategic and statutory planning areas, having held a number of general manager and director level positions. CEO, Wyndham City Council

Local Government Areas

  • Maribyrnong City Council
  • Brimbank City Council
  • Melton City Council
  • Hobsons Bay City Council
  • Moonee Valley City Council
  • Wyndham City Council

How to contact us