The Inner Metro Partnership is an advisory group established by the Victorian Government. The Partnership is a way for local communities to engage directly with state and local governments, and advise the Victorian Government of the top priorities for jobs, services and infrastructure across the region. This advice will become part of the government’s key decision-making processes.

Following engagement with its community throughout 2017, the Inner Metro Partnership has developed its advice to the Victorian Government on the regional priorities for the Inner Metro region.

The Partnership's advice for 2017 included:

Rough Sleeping and Affordable Housing: More support for those rough sleeping and increasing supply of affordable housing

Aboriginal Children: Improve health and well-being, safety and educational outcomes for Aboriginal children

Fishermans Bend Tramline: Improve connectivity to urban renewal areas to stimulate economic activity

Innovation and Creative Economies: Retain and enhance places for local innovative and creative economies

Environment: Ensure environmental benefits and mitigating environmental impacts

The Partnership held its second annual Assembly on Thursday 16 August 2018 at the Richmond Football Club, Richmond, where it heard directly from the community about how to further progress priorities for the region. Watch the video below to see the 2018 Assembly in action, or read the 2018 Inner Metro Assembly Summary Report to see some of the feedback and ideas raised at the night's discussions.

What we heard from young people in Inner Metro

In May 2018, young people from Inner Metro shared their ideas for maintaining and improving the livability of their community at the first Metropolitan Partnerships Youth Forum.

Students and young people 15-19 years of age from schools and youth organisations across each of Melbourne's six regions were invited to attend the Metropolitan Partnerships Youth Forum at the State Library of Victoria

To find out what participants had to say about what's important as a young person living, working and studying in Melbourne read the 2018 Metropolitan Partnerships Youth Forum report and watch some of the highlights from the Inner Metro breakout discussions.

Inner Metro storyboard articulated in Youth Forum report

On 13 September 2017, 143 community members, business representatives, councillors and mayors came together to help determine the key priorities for the Inner Metro Region. The outcomes of the Assembly have been used by the Partnership to inform its advice to government on priorities for Melbourne's Inner Metro region.

Watch the video to see the 2017 Assembly in action.

The Inner Metro Region

The Inner Metro Metropolitan Region of Melbourne extends from the Flemington Racecourse and Kensington to the coastline of Port Phillip Bay at Port Melbourne and St Kilda, taking in the inner city suburbs of Collingwood and Richmond. The Inner Metro Metropolitan Region is the urban centre of Melbourne, home to the central business district (CBD), world-class sporting facilities, cultural heritage locations, and dense residential and commercial precincts.

The Inner Metro Metropolitan Region is the traditional home of the Wurundjeri and Bunurong people of the Kulin nation.

Read more about the Inner Metro Metropolitan Region.

Who to talk to and look out for

The Partnerships are generally made up of 15 members from across each of the six metropolitan regions. Membership includes eight community and business representatives with varied backgrounds, experiences and networks, the CEO of each of local government in that region, a Deputy Secretary from the Victorian State Government, and a representative from the Local Government Areas.

Tony Keenan Tony has been CEO of Launch Housing since July 2015, which was formed through a merger of Hanover Welfare Services and HomeGround Services. Tony was CEO of Hanover since 2006. He has served in many community and policy advisory roles including as a member of the Australian National Council on AIDS and the Australian Social Inclusion Board. Chair
Alex Lawlor Currently Executive Director for Property and Sustainability with the University of Melbourne, Alex has worked in regional development for over 10 years from both government and commercial perspectives. She worked with Vic Urban on the Revitalising Central Dandenong project as well as Footscray and Maribyrnong, and now with the University of Melbourne’s metropolitan and regional campuses. Deputy Chair
Peter McEwan Peter is an experienced town planner and Director of the Board for Australia's first Pride Centre, which will serve as a hub for LGBTI groups and organisations. Peter is also a sessional member of Planning Panels Victoria and a tribunal member of the Architects Registration Board. In 2007 he volunteered his skills as a town planner in the Post Tsunami Reconstruction project in Sri Lanka. Member
Martin Brennan Martin has a long association with local government as both an elected representative and a professional. Martin is an Honorary Senior Research Fellow with the Victorian Eco-Innovation Lab at the University of Melbourne; his role is to provide local government advice to the research undertaken for the Post-carbon Resilient Future Cities Project. Member
Laura Cavallo Laura is a skilled professional with extensive experience in destination marketing communications and working in the Victorian tourism industry. In her current role as CEO Destination Melbourne she leads a team that is focussed on delivering their best for our visitors and visitor industry across Melbourne. Laura is also a recent graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Member
Sheree Siow As Head of Legal (Group Insurance) at AIA Australia, Sheree is a highly regarded and strategic commercial and corporate lawyer experienced in a range of sectors. Sheree is an active community member and has received industry recognition as a leader in the Women in Law Awards, Corporate Counsel Awards and Victorian Legal Awards. Member
David Webster David is Deputy Secretary, Commercial Division at Department of Treasury and Finance advising Government on balance sheet, commercial transactions and state owned entities. Prior to DFT, David had more than 25 years’ extensive international structured finance and commercial senior management experience specialising in infrastructure. Victorian Government representative
Ben Rimmer Ben Rimmer has been the CEO at the City of Melbourne since 9 February 2015. Previously, Ben was the Associate Secretary of the Australian Department of Human Services and Deputy Secretary of Strategic Policy and Implementation at the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet.  Ben has also worked for the Boston Consulting Group in Australia and the United Kingdom. CEO, City of Melbourne
Vijaya Vaidyanath VJ has been the CEO of Yarra City Council since 2012.  Prior to Yarra, VJ spent over a decade as CEO to two large metro councils in New Zealand.  VJ also worked as a Senior Executive in the Reserve Bank in India with brief stints in the USA before migrating to New Zealand. CEO, City of Yarra
Peter Smith Peter started with the City of Port Phillip as CEO on 29 May 2017. Peter has more than 20 years’ experience working in CEO and senior executive roles at all three levels of government, notably as CEO of Adelaide City Council (2008 to 2015), Deputy CEO of the South Australian Department of Families and Communities (2005 to 2008) and National Service Manager for Centrelink. CEO, City of Port Phillip

Local Government Areas

  • City of Melbourne
  • City of Yarra
  • City of Port Phillip

How to contact us


Page last updated: 30/10/2018