The Office for Suburban Development is part of the Department of Jobs, Skills, Industry and Regions. We drive the suburban policy agenda for the Victorian Government, through our Metropolitan Partnerships and Suburban Revitalisation Programs. We engage with local stakeholders and communities to identify their needs and aspirations, and deliver projects to improve local community involvement, infrastructure and services.

Our work begins with understanding places and people, and leads to local action.

We collaborate with business and community leaders, service providers, local government and other government departments to:

  • identify what communities need to improve local living
  • develop solutions to meet those needs
  • facilitate on-ground delivery of works and programs, turning solutions into realities.

We invest in projects and programs that renew and transform suburban places, while supporting local job creation. Examples include:

  • better bike and pedestrian links to shops and services
  • landscaping projects to beautify and keep public places cool
  • pop-up parks near shops and cafes
  • upgraded community hubs and facilities
  • youth jobs and skills programs, and
  • community-led events.

Find more information about our projects on The Victorian Connection.

Read video transcript

Melbourne’s Metropolitan Regions

The government has identified six metropolitan regions within Melbourne – Inner Metro, Inner South-east, Western, Northern, Eastern and Southern. Within these regions the government will work with local government, industry and community leaders to develop long-term plans to attract investment, create jobs, and improve liveability and community resilience.

To find out more about your region, click on the map below.

Boronia Warburton Healesville Lilydale EASTERN Altona Tarneit Werribee Melton WESTERN INNER SOUTH - EAST Melbourne INNER METRO Rosebud Noble Park Springvale Dandenong Frankston SOUTHERN Broadmeadows Reservoir Thomastown Lalor Sunbury Whittlesea NORTHERN